Page Loading... please wait!


This message not going away?
Ensure Javascript is on and click the box
Unregistered? Register for a user account. Home :: Downloads :: Submit News :: Reviews :: FAQ   

Online

There are 53 unlogged users and 0 registered users online.

You can log-in or register for a user account here.

Languages

Preferred language:



Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
intradomeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: May 02, 2011 - 08:44 PM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Sep 28, 2005
Posts: 382

Status: Offline
Will i still get oil pressure even with plugs out? I guess there just will be no compression?
I have the guage permanently installed to the oil pressure sending unit, so i can monitor the pressure while testing.


_________________
sbylinski@yahoo.com
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail  
Reply with quote Back to top
EAMartinOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: May 02, 2011 - 11:34 PM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Jan 04, 2008
Posts: 298

Status: Offline
Having the plugs out allows the engine to turn over easier so that you can spin it faster and with less effort from the starter allowing the oil pressure to build. Use a remote starter button to activate the starter so that there is no power to the ignition or fuel system.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dBOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: May 03, 2011 - 12:50 AM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: May 29, 2004
Posts: 1273
Location: Milton, WI.
Status: Offline
Hi,

What about using the distributor drive and turn it to pre pump oil into the galleys.
I am not sure if the LS-1 has the same oil pump arrangements as older SBC engines.

dB...........
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
intradomeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: May 03, 2011 - 03:47 AM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Sep 28, 2005
Posts: 382

Status: Offline
dB,

Not sure. Maybe somebody can advise. For sure I dont feel like having the engine rebuild due to improper start procedure after a long period of not use.

Sebastian

_________________
sbylinski@yahoo.com
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail  
Reply with quote Back to top
MMBRAZILOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: May 03, 2011 - 04:50 AM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Apr 03, 2006
Posts: 2080
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil
Status: Offline
If you can turn the engine oil preasure should built up fast, and keep checking if it stays constant. Check if there is oil going up to valve covers, and check if valves are working they are hidraulic lifters.

_________________
Want to give your ride a great look? Go to:
www.scuderiamarinelli.com
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail  
Reply with quote Back to top
EAMartinOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: May 03, 2011 - 05:58 PM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Jan 04, 2008
Posts: 298

Status: Offline
The LS engines have the oil pump on the front of the crankshaft so the only way to get oil pressure is to turn the engine. You could pump pressurized oil into one of the external ports such as the oil pressure sending hole.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
wire2Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: May 08, 2011 - 09:56 PM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Feb 15, 2005
Posts: 307
Location: Milton, ON, Canada
Status: Offline
EAMartin wrote:
The LS engines have the oil pump on the front of the crankshaft so the only way to get oil pressure is to turn the engine. You could pump pressurized oil into one of the external ports such as the oil pressure sending hole.

Ditto. No distributor. Pull the hose off the sender, attach a T and a piece of hose, then add another piece of hose between the T and a cheap drill pump.
Put the suction hose in a bottle of 10W-30. When you see pressure on the gauge, turn the engine by hand to uncover the oil ports on the crank and the cam. By now it will probably be easier to turn. It's a 20 minute process that can add many miles to an engine that's been sitting a long time.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
intradomeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: May 09, 2011 - 02:35 PM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Sep 28, 2005
Posts: 382

Status: Offline
wire2, good suggestion.

thanks guys for other suggestions as well. still didnt have time to get to and try all your suggestions. as soon as i do it i will post update here.

sebastian

_________________
sbylinski@yahoo.com
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail  
Reply with quote Back to top
intradomeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: May 29, 2011 - 09:24 PM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Sep 28, 2005
Posts: 382

Status: Offline
Just an update. The battery was a problem. Added battery without using the jump starter unit and starter turned the engine very quick and strong. Thanks for all the advice.

Sebastian

_________________
sbylinski@yahoo.com
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2006 The PNphpBB Group
Credits
 
Page created in 0.79850196838379 seconds.