Page Loading... please wait!


This message not going away?
Ensure Javascript is on and click the box
Unregistered? Register for a user account. Home :: Downloads :: Submit News :: Reviews :: FAQ   

Online

There are 64 unlogged users and 1 registered user online.

You can log-in or register for a user account here.

Languages

Preferred language:



Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
Richard454Offline
Post subject: BMW V12 Standalone ECU  PostPosted: Dec 28, 2012 - 10:24 PM
Member


Joined: Mar 06, 2010
Posts: 36
Location: Atlanta, GA
Status: Offline
I was originally going w/ the OEM BMW computers- however my build sort of went on a tangent- now basically have a M73 w/ some M70 front covers on it...custom built Dry sump and some Jenvey ITB's on a crossram intake.


NOW- here's what's coming availible next week--
I have looked at several other standalones- but most were too pricey- and did more than I really needed...Was originally looking at a Megasquirt- but didn't like the idea of adding on additional boxes to do 12 cylinders and it looked too "homemade" for me. But this is megasquirt's latest-
What do you think about this? About $1200

http://www.diyautotune.com/ms3-pro.html

Richard

 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
beyondcustomOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Dec 29, 2012 - 03:57 AM
Senior Member


Joined: Nov 22, 2009
Posts: 108
Location: Western Australia Perth
Status: Offline
not bad for the price, you will still have to change to manual throttles.. it really comes down to who will tune it, here in Australia there are so many good computer options... but finding tuners that understand the computers and will tune it correctly takes time and experience.... does it have cold start parameters?.. will the tuner understand them, actually spend the time over a few days setting them up??.. you will need an interdependent stepper motor ( IDLE CONTROL) to bridge between the banks that the computer can control.. alot of factors to think of ... taken me 2 year to combine a complete aftermarket system to work with our v12's and start first pop of the key every time and work. but also be cost effective..

Leon
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Richard454Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Dec 29, 2012 - 04:42 AM
Member


Joined: Mar 06, 2010
Posts: 36
Location: Atlanta, GA
Status: Offline
Thanks for the input Leon-

The DIYautotune guys are local to me- and I'm thinking they have a pretty good grasp on tuning.
And from talking to them- it does have the cold start parameters.

I am running Individual Throttle Bodies- so manual throttles is a moot point. And the MS3-Pro has a 'mode' for ITBs.

It will also support the stock trigger wheel 60-2 with the BMW sensor.

I'm thinking- hoping it won't be that tough to set up...



 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
beyondcustomOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Dec 29, 2012 - 05:31 AM
Senior Member


Joined: Nov 22, 2009
Posts: 108
Location: Western Australia Perth
Status: Offline
sounds like a good option then, love the engine also. have you done head work? cams? high compression?? just starting to set one up now as high comp... looking for info and parts
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
jdinnerOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Dec 29, 2012 - 03:04 PM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Nov 10, 2003
Posts: 3076
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Status: Offline
I just looked at the specs and it looks pretty good.
A few things to think about....
Are you running power brakes?
Where will you plumb in a port for power brakes to provide enough vacuum?
IAC won't be a big deal as you can just adjust the idle by the linkage.
Make sure to install a wideband O2 sensor. Data logging with the sensor readings coupled with TPS and engine load readings will be your best friend when tuning.

You can use one of the stock VR crank sensors to do everything. It looks like a cam sensor will not be needed with that system.

You probably will need some type of ignition coil driver as it doesn't look like it can run the coils by itself.
On the note, will it drive two coils 60* apart?

_________________
Visit http://jimdinner.wordpress.com/
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
AdrianBurtonOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Dec 29, 2012 - 04:31 PM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Jul 22, 2003
Posts: 1752
Location: Mooresville, NC
Status: Offline
that is nice, I want to have mine running by carlisle so I will have to speak to them about this

_________________
Now building in Mooresville NC
http://www.flickr.com/photos/adrianburton
http://profile.imageshack.us/user/AdrianBurton
http://s997.photobucket.com/albums/af91/AdrianBurton/
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Richard454Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Dec 29, 2012 - 05:34 PM
Member


Joined: Mar 06, 2010
Posts: 36
Location: Atlanta, GA
Status: Offline
Adrian-
My goal is to have the car up and running by the Hot Rod Power Tour this June...


Jim-

No, I'm not running power brakes...but since I'm using the stock intake manifolds cut down- I have a port where the stock injectors were- I'll have to tap and plug or If I run a vacuum sensor - I'm gonna do something like this-or make it look like it's a nitrous set up...




Yes- I am running a O2 sensor. The piece also has 2 knock sensor inputs- and since the M73 heads already have them...there's also a cam sensor as well...so I'm thinking that its pretty well covered!!!

Ignition system...That's still up in the air on that approach. I will check w/ the guys to see what my options are. I'd like to use some LSx truck coils ...and thinking it shouldn't be that tough to make it work with all the LS support out there.


Richard
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Richard454Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Dec 31, 2012 - 03:11 PM
Member


Joined: Mar 06, 2010
Posts: 36
Location: Atlanta, GA
Status: Offline
Here's the manual for it...238 pages..so I've got some reading to do!

http://www.diyautotune.com/downloads/ms3-pro/ms3-pro_manual_rc1.pdf

Richard
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Richard454Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jan 05, 2013 - 04:10 PM
Member


Joined: Mar 06, 2010
Posts: 36
Location: Atlanta, GA
Status: Offline
OK...I bought one.

It comes w/ and w/o a harness. The harness is about $150 more...but by the time you buy the pins and connectors to make your own- the savings is less than $100. Not to mention you'd need the crimpers....

It will drive the LS truck coils- but only has eight outputs (no extra drivers required!)- So I'm gonna do it w/ wasted spark. It'll also handle the IGN-1A coils and the VW pencil coils w/o any additional drivers/equipment required.

I also bought an IAT (GM Sensor)- I'll mount near the opening of the throttle bodies-a MAP is not required- but will help w/ drivability. From my understanding I can just hook it up to one intake runner w/o any issues.

It has both a USB port and a RS 232 input and comes w/ Tuner Studio Software...

Richard





 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
AdrianBurtonOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jan 05, 2013 - 05:21 PM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Jul 22, 2003
Posts: 1752
Location: Mooresville, NC
Status: Offline
I am following this intently.

I havent had a chance to look at it but how does it compare to the MS3

_________________
Now building in Mooresville NC
http://www.flickr.com/photos/adrianburton
http://profile.imageshack.us/user/AdrianBurton
http://s997.photobucket.com/albums/af91/AdrianBurton/
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Richard454Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jan 16, 2013 - 04:40 AM
Member


Joined: Mar 06, 2010
Posts: 36
Location: Atlanta, GA
Status: Offline
Adrian-

The MS3 pro is basically a standalone and doesn't look like a DIY piece as does the MS3--Here's the inside of a MS3...and the wiring harness plugs are a lot better.



And here's the inside of a new Pro-



I'm slowly moving along on mine- I bought a whole lot of LS2 coils- I have like 20 left over- If interested I'm selling them for $20 each- they are the GM OEM ones-not a replacement. I got the pigtails off ebay and using the BMW injector tray & wiring. Bought a GM 1 bar MAP sensor as well.

I have figured out the mounting of the ECU- right inside the firewall on the pass side-

I'm getting ready to start soldering...I'm picking up my intake manifolds from the welder tomorrow...

 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
AdrianBurtonOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jan 16, 2013 - 06:52 PM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Jul 22, 2003
Posts: 1752
Location: Mooresville, NC
Status: Offline
OOOOH OOOOH
I want some

_________________
Now building in Mooresville NC
http://www.flickr.com/photos/adrianburton
http://profile.imageshack.us/user/AdrianBurton
http://s997.photobucket.com/albums/af91/AdrianBurton/
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Richard454Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jan 18, 2013 - 06:31 AM
Member


Joined: Mar 06, 2010
Posts: 36
Location: Atlanta, GA
Status: Offline
I've started making the harness...Got the intakes back from my welder buddy...Tight fit -but looks as though it's gonna work!!



 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
AdrianBurtonOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jan 23, 2013 - 03:46 AM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Jul 22, 2003
Posts: 1752
Location: Mooresville, NC
Status: Offline
That is SOOOOOO SEXY!!!!!

_________________
Now building in Mooresville NC
http://www.flickr.com/photos/adrianburton
http://profile.imageshack.us/user/AdrianBurton
http://s997.photobucket.com/albums/af91/AdrianBurton/
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Richard454Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Mar 08, 2013 - 03:38 PM
Member


Joined: Mar 06, 2010
Posts: 36
Location: Atlanta, GA
Status: Offline
Thanks Adrian...oh -you're talking about the engine...

MY BIG step- the harness is finished. I hooked up the coils -injectors- air and coolant temp sensors plus the throttle position sensor.

I have put together a baseline program set up or tune for my engine- wasn't really that hard to do w/ "TunerStudio."

NOW the big test - I hook up 12volts power it up and connect the USB to my Laptop...It works!!!

I first have the throttle body w/ TPS sensor and got it calibrated- you can see it on the gauge on the Laptop. Next I run the hairdryer on the coolant temp sensor and then the Air temp sensor- and you can see the temps rise...

Next I run a injector test- you have to listen closely-the injectors click in sequential firing order- I labeled them A-L to verify..then I do the same with the coils...almost there!!!

Richard

Here's the video-
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8mMfNyZrfFM

Here's the throttle linkage-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qok8r_etjgU
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2006 The PNphpBB Group
Credits
 
Page created in 0.28381299972534 seconds.