Page Loading... please wait!


This message not going away?
Ensure Javascript is on and click the box
Unregistered? Register for a user account. Home :: Downloads :: Submit News :: Reviews :: FAQ   

Online

There are 42 unlogged users and 0 registered users online.

You can log-in or register for a user account here.

Languages

Preferred language:



Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
88.5countachOffline
Post subject: Need transaxle +++  PostPosted: Jun 24, 2013 - 02:54 AM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Feb 26, 2010
Posts: 308
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Status: Offline
Guys, need some help, the Griffin Gear box I had broke some internals and they just don't have the time to fit in the one off parts.
Links to what to the Griffin unit coming out.
https://lamborghinicountachreplica.wordpress.com/2012/11/26/transaxle-documenting/
https://lamborghinicountachreplica.wordpress.com/2012/11/05/started-removing-the-transaxle/

Have an email in to the master (JDinner) he's local to me, but a busy guy and he knows what locally available.

Have a good budget but want to look at what's easiest to fit up to my LT1 (out of a 93 vette) its stock, running with lambo 345/35/15's mounted to OEM wheels on GM hubs (have not counted the splines but I believe they are front hubs from a Blazer. I'm getting the transmission and drive shafts (believe these are from a Cadillac). Hopefully they will be shipped back soon.

I'm a rookie to this stuff but have to admit I'm looking forward to doing this. Reading the forum found the following:

- GBox looks like they are in our industry but the Porsche ratios looks like the LT1 will be screaming on a cruise?

- California Motorsports, same Porsche issue but looks like they could supply every thing from the fly-wheel to the CV + the shifter and linkage. That's appealing to me since I have limited time and resourced for finding this.

- Advanced Automotion like the Audi ratio's but looks like I'll be on the hunt to put the rest of the parts together to finish the drive line and shift linkage.

- Monels look like they are more buggy style transmissions, not sure they have the rest of the items I need?

Don't know much about these guy so any help would be appreciated or other alternatives. I'm not hard on equipment and the cars more for shows for me not track days.

_________________
https://lamborghinicountachreplica.wordpress.com/
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
AdrianBurtonOffline
Post subject: RE: Need transaxle +++  PostPosted: Jun 24, 2013 - 01:23 PM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Jul 22, 2003
Posts: 1748
Location: Mooresville, NC
Status: Offline
Have you contacted Delynn aboiut the box?

Aside from that the ricardo would be a great option, I have seen the graziano boxes going for about 7k used but then you will still have to adapt

_________________
Now building in Mooresville NC
http://www.flickr.com/photos/adrianburton
http://profile.imageshack.us/user/AdrianBurton
http://s997.photobucket.com/albums/af91/AdrianBurton/
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
flyhilandsoft
Post subject: RE: Need transaxle +++  PostPosted: Jun 24, 2013 - 02:33 PM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: May 12, 2007
Posts: 330

California Motor Sports can install taller 4th and 5th gears in some of there gearboxes. I know for the G50 like I am using they can. This will give you faster speeds at lower revs.

http://www.californiamotorsports.net/G5001%20stock%20gears.pdf


The only thing about the G50 is it needs to be operated upside down. It works just fine as many people do this however when inverted it raises the axle points higher and may not work in your existing chassis. It could be a problem in a V8 with a deep oil pan. Some go with a dry sump set up but now you are adding more expense, time and complexities. It will handle the horsepower however.

RBT: You will pay big for these but this is an option http://rbttrans.com/

Hewland: More for racing and probably noisy due to straight gears and very expensive http://www.fortinracing.com/

More high dollar options http://ranchotransaxles.com/

_________________
John
Goodyear, Az
"Its a dry heat"

http://www.siennacountach.net/gallery2/album129?page=1

http://countachbuild.shutterfly.com/pictures#:albumId=2303
Password-aluminum
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail  
Reply with quote Back to top
RTOffline
Post subject: RE: Need transaxle +++  PostPosted: Jun 24, 2013 - 03:41 PM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Feb 04, 2004
Posts: 1944
Location: Buckingham, PA, USA
Status: Offline
I'm running an LT1 with Kennedy adapter to a ZFII five speed transaxle. The "II" means it is a limited slip differential. The ZF has a Ford clutch spline so I am using a Centerforce clutch for a Ford and drilled the Chevy flywheel to accept the clutch. That way you don't have to mix and match clutch parts.
The transaxle has a 4.22 differential ratio but both fourth and fifth are overdrive. The ratios almost match the real Lambo.
I found mine on a GT40 web site.
This could be a solution for you.

RT

This is the tag on the case with ratios.


_________________
It isn't enough to want a Lambo, you have to want to BUILD A CAR!
http://www.flickr.com/photos/49982981@N00/
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
88.5countachOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 01, 2013 - 04:49 PM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Feb 26, 2010
Posts: 308
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Status: Offline
Thanks for the help guys. Lots to investigate. I have worked out a game plan to have his new unit before Christmas for me, I'm not convinced but hopeful, mean time I using this as a contingency plan.

_________________
https://lamborghinicountachreplica.wordpress.com/
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
88.5countachOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Feb 03, 2015 - 05:47 PM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Feb 26, 2010
Posts: 308
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Status: Offline
It's back, woohoo. Just loaded it back into the car on the weekend.


_________________
https://lamborghinicountachreplica.wordpress.com/
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
AdrianBurtonOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Feb 03, 2015 - 09:47 PM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Jul 22, 2003
Posts: 1748
Location: Mooresville, NC
Status: Offline
did Delynn rebuild it for you????

_________________
Now building in Mooresville NC
http://www.flickr.com/photos/adrianburton
http://profile.imageshack.us/user/AdrianBurton
http://s997.photobucket.com/albums/af91/AdrianBurton/
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
88.5countachOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Mar 02, 2015 - 06:06 PM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Feb 26, 2010
Posts: 308
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Status: Offline
AdrianBurton wrote:
did Delynn rebuild it for you????


Hey Adrian, sorry for the late replay been working on the car. Yes he did. Its back in the car. Hope to test it soon. Razz

_________________
https://lamborghinicountachreplica.wordpress.com/
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2006 The PNphpBB Group
Credits
 
Page created in 0.23410701751709 seconds.