Page Loading... please wait!


This message not going away?
Ensure Javascript is on and click the box
Unregistered? Register for a user account. Home :: Downloads :: Submit News :: Reviews :: FAQ   

Online

There are 79 unlogged users and 0 registered users online.

You can log-in or register for a user account here.

Languages

Preferred language:



Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
jdinnerOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Mar 28, 2010 - 01:52 PM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Nov 10, 2003
Posts: 3075
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Status: Offline
I used 1/2 ID rubber hoses (#8 hydraulic) to extend my hoses. I put the oil filter in the left side just ahead of the wheel. To change the filter it will be a job and a half.
On my alternator I have only two wires, one to battery, one to the idiot light. You probably only need the two anyway. There is no harm in testing it with it running using a test light connected to positive.

_________________
Visit http://jimdinner.wordpress.com/
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Wile_E.Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Mar 29, 2010 - 12:08 AM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Mar 26, 2004
Posts: 681

Status: Offline
The wire to the idiot light must be the solid blue one.

I am also using the BMW starter relay and possibly the ignition switch. The starter relay has a wire that goes to the #18pin on the X20 for the diagnostic. The car ran without that wire connected but I want to reconnect it so the diagnostic can read the relay.

I was going to mount the oil filter back by the trans but realized the exhaust will be taking that area. I will probably put it outside the engine bay like Jim. This is where a Fiero engine bay is actually better because there is more room to put the oil filter in the OEM location.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
jdinnerOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Mar 29, 2010 - 10:57 AM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Nov 10, 2003
Posts: 3075
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Status: Offline
To make the oil filter lines longer, I cut the ends off the lines and cut 1/2"NPT (pipe threads) on the inside. Then I had hydraulic hoses made up to whatever length I needed.
This way the original clamp and o-ring fitting can be used at both ends of the lines.

_________________
Visit http://jimdinner.wordpress.com/
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
andpgudOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Sep 12, 2012 - 03:38 PM
Member


Joined: Nov 30, 2011
Posts: 33

Status: Offline
Is there anything going on with that car?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2006 The PNphpBB Group
Credits
 
Page created in 0.53230810165405 seconds.